Project 3 – Experimenting

I’ve began to do some experimenting with my figure drawings. To begin with, I had been sticking with using graphite and/or pencil to draw out the figure. However, recently I decided to start adding more detail to the figures, like shading.

img_3357

From there, I kept moved into experimenting with ink. I would start out with pencil and just get the rough figure in and then refine it with an ink brush pen. In some spots, I took a colored ink pen and shaded different parts of the figures. However, I pushed that aside to explore other mediums I’ll get to in just a second.

IMG_3358.JPG

After this, I decided to use Copic markers to get the gesture and block in big areas of shadow at the same time. Soon, though, I started playing around with different colors to see what would happen. What I got was a lot of really interesting looking sketches that use a nice blend of colors.

img_3352

In the bottom right figure, I started using ink and marker together to outline and refine details like facial features and folds in the skin. I like the look of it and I would like to explore this further in my next set of drawings.

Leave a comment